Who will play in the 2024 Rose Bowl, playoffs? – Orange County Register

The College Football Playoff committee will have a tough decision to make Sunday morning when it will release the bracket that lists the four teams competing for this season’s national championship.

Big Ten champion Michigan and Pac-12 champion Washington finished the season undefeated at 13-0 and are expected to finish the regular season as the top two teams in the rankings.

The Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl will host the semifinal games on January 1. The CFP rankings will be released at 9 a.m. Pacific Time, followed by the rest of the bowl game pairings.

Florida State, Alabama, Georgia and Texas are among the teams in consideration for the final two spots.

Florida State also improved to 13-0 and earned the ACC championship after a 16-6 victory over Louisville. There’s some curiosity as to where the committee will rank FSU after playing the final two games of the season without star quarterback Jordan Travis and having to play its third-string quarterback on Saturday evening.

Quarterback Jalen Milroe and Alabama held off Georgia, who was the top-ranked team to start the weekend, with a 27-24 victory in the SEC championship game.

Texas made a statement with its 49-21 victory over Oklahoma State to claim the Big 12 title. The case could be made that Texas should earn the third spot considering the nonconference win it has over Alabama from earlier in the season.

Viewing on a mobile device? Click here for LIVE UPDATES

Bowl Game schedule (All times are Pacific Time and information is subject to change):

Friday, Dec. 16

Myrtle Beach Bowl (8 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Cricket Celebration Bowl (9 a.m., ABC): TBA

R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl (11:15 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Avocados from Mexico Cure Bowl (12:30 p.m., ABC): TBA

Isleta New Mexico Bowl (2:45 p.m., ESPN): TBA

LA Bowl (4:30 p.m., ABC): TBA

Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl (6:15 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Monday, Dec. 18

Famous Toastery Bowl  (11:30 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Tuesday, Dec. 19

Scooters’s Coffee Frisco Bowl (6 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Thursday, Dec. 21

Roofclaim.com Boca Raton Bowl (5 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Friday, Dec. 22

Union Home Mortgage Gasparilla Bowl (3:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Saturday, Dec. 23

Birmingham Bowl (9 a.m., ABC): TBA

Camellia Bowl (9 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (12:30 p.m., ABC): TBA

Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (12:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

68 Ventures Bowl (4 p.m., ESPN): TBA

SRS Distribution Las Vegas Bowl (4:30 p.m., ABC): TBA

Easypost Hawai’i Bowl (7:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Tuesday, Dec. 26

Quick Lane Bowl (11 a.m., ESPN): TBA

SERVPRO First Responder Bowl (2:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Guaranteed Rate Bowl (6 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Wednesday, Dec. 27

Military Bowl Presented by Go Bowling (11 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Duke’s Mayo Bowl (2:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

DIRECTV Holiday Bowl (5 p.m., FOX): TBA

TaxAct Texas Bowl (6 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Thursday, Dec. 28

Wasabi Fenway Bowl (8 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Bad Bow Mowers Pinstripe Bowl (11:15 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Pop-Tarts Bowl (2:45 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Valero Alamo Bowl (6:15 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Friday, Dec. 29

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl (9 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl (11 a.m., CBS): TBA

AutoZone Liberty Bowl (12:30 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Goodyear Cotton Bowl (5 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Saturday, Dec. 30

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (9 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Transperfect Music City Bowl (11 a.m., ABC): TBA

Capital One Orange Bowl (1 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Barstool Sports Arizona Bowl (1:30 p.m., Barstool): TBA

Monday, Jan. 1, 2024

ReliaQuest Bowl (9 a.m., ESPN2): TBA

Cheez-It Citrus Bowl (10 a.m., ABC): TBA

VRBO Fiesta Bowl (10 a.m., ESPN): TBA

Rose Bowl / CFP semifinal (2 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Sugar Bowl / CFP semifinal (5:45 p.m., ESPN): TBA

Monday, Jan. 8, 2024

College Football Playoff national championship (4:30 p.m., ESPN): Winner of the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl

Coaches on the move:

While bowl-eligible teams found out where they’ll play later this month, other college programs have taken the first step toward rebuilding.

Hires & Fires

Michigan State: Mel Tucker out, Jonathan Smith in

Northwestern: Pat Fitzgerald out, David Braun in

Mississippi State: Zach Arnett out, Jeff Lebby in

Texas A&M: Jimbo Fisher out, Mike Elko in

San Diego State: Brady Hoke out, Sean Lewis in

Syracuse: Dino Babers out, Fran Brown in

Indiana: Tom Allen out, Curt Cignetti in

Oregon State: Jonathan Smith out, Trent Bray in